Archives

Friday, January 6, 2012

.C. FOREST SERVICE ROAD REPORT

Fair Harbour – Highway 19

Fair Harbour FSR – Highway 19 Road...

Thursday, January 5, 2012

Coastal Nuu-chah-nulth nations are waiting for word on who will take the lead in dealing with the enormous mass of floating debris from the earthquake and tsunami that devastated northeastern Japan on...

Thursday, January 5, 2012

A group of volunteers met with city staff and representatives of the Alberni Clayoquot Regional District today to discuss improvements to efforts in marketing the Alberni Valley and its agricultural...

Wednesday, January 4, 2012

Newly re-elected Uchucklesaht Chief Councillor Charlie Cootes Sr. says his nation must pursue an aggressive program of economic development now that it is free of the Indian Act.

Tuesday, January 3, 2012

Saturday, December 31, 2011

Members of Uchucklesaht re-elected Charlie Cootes Sr. as chief councillor in an election that pitted the long-time leader against his own son, Charlie Jr., and Warren Robinson.

Wednesday, December 28, 2011

Happy birthday to Kaanowish a.k.a. Charles A. Ross on Dec. 28th.  From your sister.

Saturday, December 24, 2011

Tragedy struck two families in Gold River when the duplex they were living in caught fire today.

Dale Wilson woke to his doorbell ringing at 6 a.m. When he opened the door his porch was entirely...

Wednesday, December 21, 2011

Gordon Dick hosted his third annual Artists at Work open house at Ahtsik Gallery on Pacific Rim Highway on Dec. 17 and 18.

Dick said the event wasn’t quite an anniversary, but it came close.

Sunday, December 18, 2011

First Nations Wildcrafters co-owner Keith Hunter called on officials from the provincial forest and agriculture ministries and on industry professionals to recognize and make use of aboriginal knowledge...

Thursday, December 15, 2011

Hosted by Tseshaht Nation on Jan. 5 at Maht Mahs. Open to youth.

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

Members of Tseshaht First Nation attended a workshop on Dec. 12 to initiate development of a Tseshaht Google atlas, incorporating cultural, geographical and historical information in a user-friendly...

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

Ahtsik Native Art Gallery

Date: Saturday December 17, and Sunday December 18, 2011

Time: 11 to 5:30pm

 

Guest Artists:

Doug David – Tla o qui aht (Sunday only...

Wednesday, December 14, 2011
Monday, December 12, 2011
Wednesday, December 7, 2011

Denise Martineau is moving on after serving four years as manager of the Tsahaheh Branch of the BMO Bank of Montreal.

Martineau will wrap up this chapter of her career on Friday, and next week...

Tuesday, December 6, 2011

Prime Minister Stephen Harper today issued the following statement to mark the National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women:

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Friday, Dec. 2 will be an historic day for Huu-ay-aht First Nations as they sign a First Nations Woodland License.  The Forest Act of BC was amended in 2010 to include a First Nations Woodland Tenure. 

Tuesday, November 29, 2011
Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Jagrup Brar, MLA Surrey Fleetwood, has accepted the MLA Welfare Challenge to live on the welfare rate of $610 for a month. He will start on Jan. 1, 2012, spending part of the month in Surrey and part in...

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Members of the all-party Special Committee to Appoint a Representative for Children and Youth have unanimously recommended that the House reappoint Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafond for a second term as the...

Thursday, November 10, 2011

This fall and winter, B.C. continues to be influenced by La Niña which means colder and wetter than normal conditions. While this might be good news for winter sports enthusiasts, it...

Pages