Nominate an achiever: Deadline is June 27

Published on June 1, 2011

Evan Adams and Adam Beach hosted the 18th Annual National Aboriginal Achievement Awards which were held in Edmonton this year. In 2012, the Awards will be presented in Vancouver at the Queen Elizabeth Theatre. 14 outstanding Aboriginal Canadians will be recognized for their contributions as First Nations, Inuit and Métis Canadians.

Honour someone outstanding – June 27th is the deadline for the 2012 National Aboriginal Achievement Awards

Media Release

June 1, 2011  It’s time to honour someone outstanding in your community. Nominate them for a National Aboriginal Achievement Award.

The National Aboriginal Achievement Awards honour and celebrate the most outstanding First Nations, Inuit and Métis people in the country – coast to coast to coast. Award laureates include Buffy Sainte-Marie, Fred Sasakamoose, Mary Simon, Mel Benson, Sharon Firth, and Norval Morriseau.

The nomination deadline for the 2012 National Aboriginal Achievement Awards is fast approaching. Nominations will be accepted until June 27, 2011.

“The awards are recognized both nationally and internationally as the highest honour the community can bestow upon its own achievers,” said Roberta Jamieson, President and CEO of the National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation and Executive Producer of the Awards Gala. “We are proud to announce that the nominations have gone digital this year. For the first time you can nominate someone through the online nomination form.”

254 recipients have been celebrated with a National Aboriginal Achievement Award over the past 18 years. Awards are presented in diverse categories such as arts, business and commerce, culture, heritage and spirituality, education, environment and natural resources, health, law and justice, media and communications, politics, public service, sports, and technology and trades. There is also a special youth award that includes a $10,000 cheque and a lifetime achievement award.

Aboriginal achievers will be celebrated at the 2012 National Aboriginal Achievement Awards in Vancouver, British Columbia on February 24, 2012.

In 1993, NAAF established the National Aboriginal Achievement Awards to encourage and celebrate excellence in the Aboriginal community in conjunction with the United Nation’s International Decade of the World’s Indigenous Peoples. The Awards have become a Canadian institution and are taped live and broadcast on Global and APTN annually.

Nominate online at

Or call the NAAF Secretariat at 1-800-329-9780 ext. 242

NAAA Supporters for 2012

Presenting Corporate Sponsor:CIBC

Lead Partner: Government of Canada

Participating Partners: Shaw Media, Suncor Energy - Aboriginal Peoples Television Network - Fort McKay Group of Companies - Air Canada, Nexen Inc. - Rio Tinto - The Society of Energy Professionals - Government of Nunavut - Government of Northwest Territories - The Westin Bayshore - Willbros

For more information, please contact:

John Ecker

Vice President, Communications and Media Relations

National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation

B: 416-987-0260

C: 647-408-5044